Noble Eatery, Halo Halo, Frances, Mariscos Sinaloa, Tropical Snowflake, Urban Cookies, Barrio Urbano

2 Apr

Today I was given permission from my boss to play hookey. It’s called PTO and boy, I needed it!

Jack and I started our day at Harkins Camelview 5, where we saw Wild Tales (Relatos Salvajes), a series of stories that are pretty, well…wild.

20150401_094841-1

Produced by none other than Pedro Almodóvar himself, so I knew it would be great. And it was very very funny. Funny goes a long way with me.

After the movie we took in some lunch at Noble Eatery. I have been wanting to get over there for some time now and today was the day, finally. Jack chowed on a tuna sandwich while I chose avocado toast with a blood orange flavor in the background… and started with cauliflower served cold with olive oil and vinegar, pepitas and raisins.

20150401_131357

20150401_131126

20150401_131739

Everything was very fresh and delicious. They bake their own bread so of course we had to take home a loaf. One stop shopping. Eat now and take home for later.

Halo Halo is another place we had meant to go to before now. One of our friends had recommended it some time back and it turned out we were on the west side of town last weekend, so a trip seemed inevitable. We took home some chicken curry, pork skewer, some other kind of pork dish with vinegar and lumpia (not pictured).

20150328_185950

Their lumpia are super tiny and very crunchy. Those were gone really fast. They also make tea/smoothies with boba and I had to have mine. Milk tea with boba.

20150328_145730

It was frothy and nice for a hot day, not too sweet.

Frances is one of those places I mean to visit more often. Because they are local and have such cute stuff. They used to be at the Union Shops at the Biltmore Fashion Park where they carried Remix shoes, but then they closed due to all the mall restrictions and quite frankly understanding what it is to be self employed, I don’t blame them. Restrictions can cut off your air, as it were. Don’t get me started on that…anyways, Frances has a fabulous facebook page, you should friend them. They have very cute jewelry, accessories, hello tshirts, kitchen textiles and clothes…the list is endless. Emphasis on cute, though.

And here’s my shirt that I got today.

20150401_161453 frances.jpg

So cute! I love fruit.

My boss introduced some of us to Mariscos Sinaloa a couple of weeks back. We were having phone troubles and he decided we should all do some team building for lunch. And I couldn’t wait to try the place. So a few of us went from work and tried different things: carne asada tacos, fried shrimp, shrimp cocktail and burritos. They do serve cubetas (buckets of beer) and micheladas (beer with clamato) but these were working hours so all we could do was ogle the cubetas at the other tables.

So recently a few of us at work were heading to Pita Bistro (think food like Pita Jungle) but they are so crowded now because their food is so healthy and good, so we needed a backup place and we landed at Mariscos Sinaloa. Look at my fabulous lunch.

20150331_123504

20150331_122044

And my peeps. We had a really good time. Bruce, my workmate, is really funny. He says ridiculous stuff really fast you don’t really have time to say “did you just say that?”

Tropical Snowflake is going to be my new best friend again this summer as it is warming up. Earlier this week I popped in for a chamoyada.

20150330_161333

My favorite snack.

Urban Cookies has happy hour on Sundays from 1-4 and Mondays (I don’t remember the times on Mondays because I can’t get there that day) and all cookies and cupcakes are half price. That means these cupcakes below are $1.50 instead of $3.00.

20150329_150927

Yes!

We brought 3 cupcakes home (chocolate on chocolate and carrot cake with cream cheese frosting) and a couple of chocolate chip cookies and made a cupcake friend. Lance, Jack’s friend came over for dinner and helped Jack with some computer issues and hooked up our HBO GO. Yes! For that we rewarded him with homemade turkey pot pie. And riesling (and a cupcake).

20150329_184532

It is the second pot pie we have ever made and was so good! The crust (courtesy of moi) came from a challenge butter recipe 1 1/4 cups flour, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/2 cup butter and 4 tablespoons of cold water. Jack made the gravy with a roux of flour and butter and threw in some fresh rosemary and a lot of veggies. It was a work of beauty.

I was excited to try Barrio Urbano as soon as I found out they opened since I was already a fan of Barrio Cafe and her former restaurant Barrio Queen (now owned by different folks). At Barrio Cafe she makes a chunky guacamole with pomegranate seeds that is duplicated at Barrio Urbano. And their pozole! Just take a look. We took my Mom for her birthday and all of us had something different. The ensalada maya with chicken and a citrus dressing was just perfect for me. Mom had pozole and Mike went for french toast, while Jack chose menudo.

20150329_135053

20150329_135049

It was a big hit especially with me and Mike. We had been to Barrio Urbano before, when Mike enjoyed an Arizona burrito with lots of chicken and smothered in a tasty cheese sauce and I was keen to try the pozole so that’s what I ordered. (They serve breakfast until 2:00..things like steak and eggs, huevos revueltos, chilaquiles, etc. take note those of you who may have imbibed the day before.) Afterwards we played ping pong at the Yard. Mike’s on his game!

This is a picture taken previously by me while he played with my uncle. You can tell he’s good.

mike pingpong

Leave a Reply

