Bobby’s Restaurant and Jazz Lounge, AJ’s Fine Foods, Thanksgiving, Segals, Green Mix, Morning Squeeze, soup night and Turkey Trot

4 Dec

Wendy took me to Bobby’s Restaurant and Jazz Lounge last month (happy birthday to me) and let me tell you, their happy hour is great. http://www.mancusosrestaurant.com/BobbysBarMenu.pdf

Let me mention that I was under-dressed, and Wendy looked fabulous.

Image

Image

Veal Meatballs and shrimp cocktail (for me) and I think Wendy had the oysters on the half shell. Then my sister Fran showed up and the party really got started. They have live piano music.

I remember a couple of glasses of good cabrenet and I think we shared some bruschetta that was delicious. Figs, mascarpone and tomato toppings. MMMM.

Eating experiences abound for the kitchen wench. One of mine and Linda’s favorite places for lunch is Green Mix. I still need to get Jack over there for lunch. http://www.greenmixeats.com/

Image

Pictured is their mango shrimp salad and Linda had one of their flatbreads, which I also like.

Since winter began, Jack has been making more “homemadey” dinners, like last weekend. He made beef noodle soup. He boils a roast with onions and “magic fairy dust,” then adds cilantro, lime, meatballs, rice noodles, toasted garlic and other goodies, and this is what it looks like.

Image

Typically he makes a lot of rice noodles so there are leftovers, so he makes beef chow fun the next day.

Image

Yup, my lunch.

The Turkey Trot was new for Fran, Dad and I this year, and it turns out that one of his classmates from high school puts it on. It is year 34. So we have some catching up to do. For a group of three to come out early (7:45 am) on Thanksgiving morning, and run (walk some too) 5.5 miles, you know we really wanted to do this.

And if the picture could speak, it would say we had a really good time. Beautiful weather and a great turnout – about 400 people. Image

Here is a link to Mr. Whitneybell’s website that has the Turkey Trot link on it in case you want to run with us next year. http://whitneybellperry.com/ It is free. You can bring your dog or ride your bike (or skates). The shirts are $15.00.

And after the race I headed home where Jack had lovingly prepared our kosher bird. It cooked for about 4 hours and came out looking pretty tasty.Image

A very juicy turkey. Jack’s third bird for our family. His birds keep improving each year.

On Thanksgiving Day we were at my Mom’s, with my brother Ken and his wife Tosha and their kiddos. I can’t believe how they have grown. And Tosha and I had a sister-sister moment (we had a few). She is a beautiful and talented lady. She won a singing contest that allowed her to go on a trip to Israel and sing there.  I told her that when her first record takes off then maybe Ken can retire early. 😉

Image

We played some ping pong at Mom’s. My brother Mike and Jack are serious contenders. I am an aspiring contender.

The day after Thanksgiving, Ken, Tosha and the kiddos and I went to Segals for lunch. I forgot how great that place is.

Image

They have a huge menu (like 4 pages) and a new bar and outside patio. I tried kosher beer for the first time. The good thing is, it works. We enjoyed teriyaki chicken wings – I think they were baked so they were not greasy, and matzo ball soup. The kiddos had kosher dogs and Ken enjoyed spaghetti and Tosha tried one of their veggie stir fries that looked delicious and was abundant.

http://segalsonestop.com/

We also picked up some jelly donuts from their deli – I can’t remember the name of them but Ken’s kiddos seemed to know them well. And they were teaching me Hebrew during the meal. A conversion is still possible!

Jack had a birthday yesterday, so I baked him a cherry pie (and bought him a bottle of his favorite hooch). It isn’t exactly something Martha Stewart would approve of, but it was delicious.  I wasn’t able to find tart canned cherries so I bought the sweet ones in syrup instead.

Image

I used this recipe from joyofbaking.com

CherryFilling:

4 cups (960 ml) pitted, sweet or tart fresh cherries(can use 4 cups (960 ml) sweet or tart canned or bottled cherries, drained with 1/3 cup (80 ml) cherry juice reserved)

3/4 cup (150 grams) granulated white sugar, or as needed

2 1/2 tablespoons (30 grams) quick cooking tapioca (I used flour)

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract (I didn’t have this)

1/2 teaspoon Kirsch or 1/4 teaspoon pure almond extract(optional) (I didn’t have this)

2 tablespoons (25 grams) unsalted butter, cut in small pieces (I forgot this)

Read more:http://www.joyofbaking.com/CherryPie.html#ixzz2mTlk1w8D

It baked at 425 degrees for 15 mins then 35 minutes at 350 degrees. Put a cookie sheet underneath yours in case it bubbles over (mine didn’t).

I suspect he finished the leftovers today.

So AJ’s Fine Foods is in the Christmas spirit already. http://www.ajsfinefoods.com/Image

Santa bait is not a bad idea if you have been a little bit bad this year 🙂

They also have gingerbread houses, already ready to go, if you don’t want to bother making it yourself (not that mine would turn out this pretty).

Image

I was there on Sunday and look at all of the goodies. I love this place (my wallet doesn’t). I was there to pick up some Spanish chorizo and left with some chocolate bars and olive oil flatbread that wasn’t on my list.

On Sunday we had brunch with Fran at Morning Squeeze. She just got her real estate license so I am hoping to win the lotto soon so she can help me get into a fancy mansion. I am glad to be surrounded by smart people.

lol.

Image

It reminds me of a European cafe since it has the yellow awnings and outside seating. It is becoming one of my favorite places for breakfast (Essence also included in this category, of course). http://www.yelp.com/biz/morning-squeeze-scottsdale

I saved the best for last. Jack’s birthday was yesterday and Shirley took us for an early birthday dinner at Mekong Palace on Sunday, where we stuffed ourselves with roast duck/pork combo, beef chow fun and kung po chicken. She also bought Jack a cute lucky bamboo planter with elephants. http://www.yelp.com/biz/mekong-palace-mesa

Image

Happy Birthday my mainsqueeze!

Leave a Reply

