Mango bread, chicken and sausage pasta, new boots and Madison Improvement Club grand opening party

10 Jan

On New Years day I made a new recipe. Mango bread, recipe courtesy of Saveur Magazine. You should make this. It is moist and disappears quickly. It was a crowd pleaser at our New Years party with friends and family. We somehow made room for it even after roast pork, bbq pork ribs, bbq chicken, an enormous salad with endive and citrus, Puerto Rican rice and black beans.

ResizedImage_1357789438369

I cut and pasted the recipe from Saveur’s website for your benefit. In the spirit of full disclosure, one of my mangos didn’t look so good, so I made this with 1 diced mango and 2 pureed mangos.  And still, it was very moist. (I doubled the recipe otherwise to make 2 loaves). Also I used pecans, because that is what was in the kitchen wench’s freezer. And I omitted the coconut since I’m not a big fan.

MAKES 1 LOAF

INGREDIENTS

⅓ cup vegetable oil, plus more for greasing
1½ cups flour, plus more for dusting
¾ tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cinnamon
½ tsp. freshly ground nutmeg
½ tsp. salt
1 cup sugar
2 eggs, plus 1 yolk
½ cup mango purée
½ tsp. vanilla extract
1 large very ripe mango, peeled, seeded, and cut into ¼” dice (about 2 cups)
½ cup chopped walnuts
½ cup shredded unsweetened coconut

INSTRUCTIONS

Heat oven to 350°. Grease a 9″ x 5″ loaf pan with oil, and dust with flour; set aside. Whisk flour, soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt in a bowl; make a well in center. Whisk oil, sugar, eggs and yolk, mango purée, and vanilla in a bowl; add to well; stir. Fold in mango, nuts, and coconut; pour into prepared pan. Bake until a toothpick inserted into bread comes out clean, about 1 hour 20 minutes.

News Flash! One of my favorite new businesses in the neighborhood (next to Bosa Donuts) is Madison Improvement Club. You can dine, work out, buy a new shirt and booze it all in one place. This makes the kitchen wench very happy, especially since it is located just a few short blocks away from where I live. Anyways, they are having a Grand Opening Party this Saturday from 9 am-5 pm. Half price food and drinks (non alcoholic only) and yoga and spin classes are discounted to $5.00. Class proceeds are being donated to charity, so you know it’s a good thing. Hope to see you there. You might spy me putting away a mimosa… or one of their craft beers, which look promising. So far I am a big fan of their smoothies, juices and salads.

http://www.themadisonphoenix.com/events/grand-opening/

For Christmas my friend Linda gifted me some beautiful handmade (no less) mugs that are going to be perfect for lattes.  They are signed by the artist and I am quite taken by them.

ResizedImage_1357788938521

Jack made a delicious pasta last night with grape tomatoes, fresh basil, garlic, olive oil, chicken and Italian sausage.

ResizedImage_1357788924525

You can substitute shrimp for the chicken, or just add it – pasta with protein three ways is not a bad thing either.

Recently my Dad was telling me he wanted to get Paul Simon’s CD that was very popular way back when that had the song on it “Diamonds on the Soles of her Shoes.” It was a fabulous CD, to be sure. I was looking for it this weekend and found a new Paul Simon boxed set, Songwriter, at Target for around $13.00.

ResizedImage_1357788954169

It is a compilation of his songs from most recent to way back, during his Simon and Garfunkel days, that I especially love. And it includes “Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes.”

Santa brought me two pairs of new boots this year. This is the gray pair, they come up mid calf. I think they are very stylish. In the background is our old carpet at work, soon to be replaced with fancy new carpet, and new desks.

ResizedImage_1357788970341

There is a lot to be thankful for, it appears, in 2013.

Leave a comment