Devils Food Cake (with whiskey surprise), pizza from The Parlor, Tilapia 3 ways and who has a green thumb in SC

8 Nov

Feeling good tonight. A little relief.

I don’t have to make that application for Canadian citizenship!

Of course, I’m saying that a little tongue in cheek. A move of that magnitude would be huge. I would need to win the lottery. So, I’ve got 4 years to save, should women’s rights be in jeopardy again.

Elizabeth Warren, please start planning your campaign.

Now.

Please, right now.

Related to last night’s news, I’m celebrating tonight with a little (12″) pepperoni pizza from The Parlor.

And a coppa confuso gelato shake from Gelato Spot (not pictured, already gone) along with a tasty wine from my neighbor, Steve. It is not a bad thing to have a neighbor who distributes wine.

http://theparlor.us/

Jack made tilapia 3 ways this weekend. Specifically, clockwise: fish with ginger/vegetable medley, fish tacos and fried fish.

 

There is a reason why the kitchen wench has to work out so much!

Another reason, of course, is that I love sweets. On Saturday, I made a cake. A devils food cake (with a whiskey surprise). This recipe comes from the Tara Tucker Cookbook.

You need:

1/2 cup cocoa

1/2 cup boiling water

2 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 eggs

1 cup sour milk (put in 1 tbsp white vinegar in your milk)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tbsp vanilla

Johnnie Walker (optional)

Boil your water and add the cocoa. Also here you could add instant coffee powder. That’s what I did – about 1 heaping teaspoon. Blend butter, sugar, eggs and then add your cocoa mixture along with baking powder. Add all other dry ingredients and blend. Turn out into a greased bundt pan and bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes. Let cool for about an hour. After my cake cooled I poured two capfulls (count ’em) of Johnnie Walker on top of the cake. It soaks in quick. Then I made a frosting with: confectioners sugar, cocoa, 1 tbsp butter (melted) and enough milk to blend.

You should make this cake.

My friend Rob sent me a picture of a beautiful dahlia he grew from a packet of 25 cent seeds.

 

One of the most vibrant flowers I have ever seen. Rob has a seriously green thumb!

Leave a Reply

