Baby bok choy with beef and The Master and Margarita

28 Feb

It is very assuming to think that someone is interested in what you have to say (in the kitchen wench’s case, write). So I don’t. But I do enjoy writing about food.

Last night Jack made baby bok choy with beef. It is amazing how quickly the beef cooks (about 3 minutes) and it is a very tender cut, he slices it on the bias and the little bok choys stay in tact. They are so cute. And tasty. Leftovers for the kitchen wench’s lunch (as if there was any question there).


Today’s breakfast in background. Still amazed that Dunkin Donuts has quite serviceable bagels. Usually I prefer them with butter, but we’re out, so the backup is orange marmalade. I like that it is tangy.

The last time I visited my brother Ken he loaned me this book, The Master and Margarita, which was banned in it’s published country (Russia) so right away I knew I had to read it.

Months later (we visited in December) I’m still on page 24. You can tell I haven’t been too disciplined. The translation is very well done, being a bit of a language person I appreciate that efforts were not made to use words other than what the author intended. Also, I am learning about religion (the first part of the book deals with Pontius Pilate going to trial for, well…expressing his religious beliefs)…and this is a good thing since in the kitchen wench’s household we didn’t exactly grow up with religious teachings. A bit of the opposite, really.

Ken also gifted me another book for my birthday last year that I haven’t finished, but I’m further along (around page 169) and it is called La Alianza Del Converso. I am enjoying it, the book is set around Leonardo da Vinci’s time and there is a beautiful love story between the characters Mauricio and Lorena. A highly structured class system. I highly recommend you read this one – I hope it has been translated into English if you don’t read Spanish.

http://www.powells.com/biblio?isbn=9788499181455

I’m also cutting and pasting the invitation from my friend Carol to her book’s reception this Sunday. Come if you can. And yes, bring your book if you have it already. If you don’t you can buy one there, and she will sign it. She already signed my copy and one for my Mom.

Arizona Press Women
invite you to
meet the editors and authors of the
New Arizona Centennial Legacy Project
“Skirting Traditions: Arizona Women Writers and Journalists 1912-2012”
Book Signing and Reception
1-5 p.m. Sunday, March 4
Arizona Art Alliance Gallery
The Pavilions at Talking Stick
9011 East Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale
READ MORE about the anthology at www.skirtingtraditions.com
Leave a Reply

