New measuring spoons…and Mexican Flan (didn’t know there was any other kind)

18 Feb

My brother sent me an email today with a picture of some new measuring spoons he bought for me at Amazon.com. Whoohoo!

I could have used the teaspoon today as I am making (wait for it) Mexican flan. I am saying this tongue in cheek because I always assumed flan is Mexican, so to say Mexican flan, well…it seems a bit…redundant. But what do I know?

I’m just using the recipe from this little booklet Jack saved and gave to me, courtesy of C&H Sugar. My second new year’s resolution in 2012 was to make a flan, so now I’m done with my new year’s resolutions. I’m going to have to add some more…maybe?

Anyways, here’s the recipe, if you want to make it. You will need all of this stuff:

Okay, that is not the picture I wanted to insert. This is a picture of my finger after I burned it making the caramel for the flan, sorry folks. Melted sugar is hot hot hot. Do not put your finger in it.

Here’s the ingredients you will need for the flan (really this time I promise):

You will need 5 eggs, 1/2 cup sugar (I used Zulka Moreno – sorry C&H), 1/2 tsp salt, 2 cups milk and 2 tsp vanilla.

You beat all of this together and put it in a 9″ pie pan (I used an 8″ because that’s all I had so it is filled up to the brim). Then you put your pie pan into a 350 degree oven and bake it for 35 minutes. Put a water bath under it with 1/2 ” boiling water so it can steam. Man, it smells really good right now in my tiny condo. All 650 square feet smells like flan. Yummy.

You also need to make some caramel. Put 1/3 cup of sugar in a pan and melt it on medium heat. Keep stirring it.

This is supposed to be easy stuff, but I burned myself doing it today. But, the final product does look pretty.

Isn’t that neat! I mean, I made caramel today! I know I shouldn’t be all full of myself, but it’s something new for me…and I’m a cross between a puppy and a 5 year old to begin with, so you have to understand, new things make me happy and excited. And a little full of myself especially when new things turn out for me in the kitchen.

But, just when I got full of myself, do as I say, not as I did. Make your caramel last just before your flan has cooled (20 mins) and you have taken it out of the pan.

Otherwise…

If you let your caramel cool, like I did, you get a brittle. This would be good for putting on ice cream.  Rats! Now I’ve got to make more, since mine is like, really hard now.

Here’s the final product. Caramel pending for obvious reasons. Trying to keep a sense of humor about this.

🙂

On a separate note, check out the pretty flowers Jack gave me for V-day.

Not sure how I got so lucky. But there you are.

Leave a Reply

