The kitchen wench’s new springform pan and Aunt Charlotte’s bread pudding

22 Jan

I got a last minute invite to dinner with my Aunt and Dad tonight. Char made baked Italian sausage with onions and lima beans (I’ve posted the recipe before). This is such a hearty and satisfying winter dish. Dinner was sans wine tonight (maybe because Dad and I had drinks at lunch and Char is looking out for us?) and I had a nice little parcel of bread pudding to bring home for breakfast:

Her version uses raisins, eggs and milk with 5 of those Francisco french rolls. She bakes if for an hour and she said it lasts for a week in the refrigerator. That’s like, breakfast for a whole week (if you don’t share like she does).

The Mexican version of bread pudding is called Capriotada. The version I tried a couple of years ago was made with sweetened condensed milk, peanuts, dried bananas, and prunes. I liked the contrast of textures between the peanuts, bread and dried fruits.

I digress. Char also gifted me a springform pan (see photo) that she said she won’t use anymore. I was telling her tonight that my cpa uses the Abigail Van Buren (Dear Abby) cheesecake recipe and I was going to make one this year as part of my new years resolutions (my other resolution is to learn how to make flan). So now I’m all set. No excuses!

And here’s Dear Abby’s Cheesecake recipe (courtesy of cooks.com):

1/3 c. powdered sugar

1 1/2 c. graham cracker crumbs

1/2 lb. (1 stick) butter
1 c. granulated sugar
3 (8 oz.) pkg. cream cheese
1 generous tsp. vanilla
4 eggs
1 pt. sour cream

Melt butter, add to crumb and sugar mixture. Line pan. Mix well next 4 ingredients. Pour into springform pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes. Top with sour cream. Bake 5 minutes more. Let cake cool. Top with 1 (21 oz.) can prepared pie filling or topping (blueberry, cherry, strawberry, etc.) Chill overnight.

I will let you know when I make it and include a photo.

 

 

Leave a Reply

