Farewell Iruña…la última cena.

8 Jan

Yesterday I got an email from the nice folks at Iruña letting me know they are closing and tonight is their last night. What is a sentimental Spanish food loving kitchen wench to do? I hopped in the car with my Dad and we picked up my little sis for the last supper…at Iruña that is. In March Chef/owner Aaron May’s restaurant is transforming into Praying Monk Tap and Kitchen, the details have been reported in the Phoenix New Times http://blogs.phoenixnewtimes.com/bella/2012/01/iruna_shutting_its_doors_this.php.

For a last supper, we did pretty good…we ordered patatas bravas, tortilla española, piernas con cabrales (my sister really liked the sauce that came with these), a duck confit salad, bocadillo de jamón, lechuga with manchego cheese and a rioja vinaigrette,  a pitcher of sangria (red of course), chistorra (chorizo with artichokes), two desserts (one was something like chocolate mousse with apricots on top (my sis loves apricots to I said we need to try this) and the other was like a brownie with ice cream on top. Everything was so delicious and it was like spending a night in Spain eating tapas except we didn’t have to pay for airfare. We finished off the meal with coffee and 43 liquor which I had never tried before. It is very warming and vanilla flavored. After the sangria I’m pretty sure I didn’t need it, but it just felt right to finish off this last meal at Iruña with a spirit.

And I have leftovers! From left to right: piernas con cabrales, bocadillo de jamón and patatas bravas.

¡Sisisisisisisisisisisisisi!

Chef May came and visited our table, he was very gracious and took the time to talk to my Dad and Sister. I asked if there was anything sentimental he could bring me from the kitchen since I am sappy that way. After our bill was paid our nice server brought a rice bag to our table which had been autographed by the owner/chef himself! It is in my kitchen now and will always remind me of our last supper…at Iruña.

Looking forward to checking out their new digs in March.

Leave a Reply

