Dim sum at Golden Buddha, a kosher bird and gifties from DeFalco’s Italian Deli

22 Nov

My Dad was in town during the week of my birthday. It was so great. We spent some quality goofing off time together. It was WAY overdue.

One of the things on our list was to go to The Parlor (great pizza) on Camelback. My aunt took care of that one – she took my Dad there for lunch during his visit and he really enjoyed it.

The other thing we wanted to do while he was in town was take him to dim sum at Mekong Palace. Well…we came close. We went to Golden Buddha http://www.phxchinatown.com/gbphx/index.htm instead (44th St./Van Buren) since it is centrally located. We enjoyed the dim sum at Buddha. Chinese broccoli, stuffed noodles with pork, bbq pork buns, fried rice, shrimp stuffed eggplant, etc. A tasty meal, however the consensus of those of us who have been to Mekong Palace is that their food is better. Or maybe it is just different. Golden Buddha uses a short grain rice and I have gotten spoiled by Jack’s rice and the same style of long grain rice (Jasmine?) that is used at Mekong. In short, if you are near the Chinese Cultural Center, by all means, go to dim sum at Golden Buddha. If you are in Mesa (or not too far away), it’s hands down Mekong Palace.

While at dim sum, my sister Francesca gifted me with goodies from DeFalco’s Italian Deli. She gave me olive oil tortas (savory) with rosemary and thyme – these are sort of like a large round cracker vs. their other varieties that taste more like a cookie (their anisette version).

Jack and I ate them with sliced salami and ham over the weekend (while watching the 49ers play the Cardinals) and they were very tasty. Nice olive oil flavor and very crispy. Also we imbibed (surprised?) the wine that Fran also gifted me called Señorio de Sarria that is a Tempranillo crianza (young wine) that I enjoyed very much. I will be going back to DeFalco’s for both of these yummies.  I’m sure I’ve mentioned in previous posts that they make great sandwiches and Italian dinners. Enough said. http://defalcosdeli.com/  I just really like this place, I feel like I’m at home when I go there. No, I don’t own any stock (regretfully).

The wine went very well with dinner, I made chicken with lima beans, onions and potatoes.  You need to microwave your lima beans first for 3-4 minutes otherwise they will come out like little rocks. Coat everything with a little olive oil, salt and pepper, then bake at 400 degrees for 1 hour 20 minutes until it is brown.

This is a hearty winter dish that goes great with football. And you only need to get one pan dirty. The domestically challenged kitchen wench approves of this!

I picked up a kosher bird yesterday at Trader Joe’s. It is like buying a gold watch (not really… but it’s more pricy than your regular frozen Jenny-O turkey).

Jack is determined to do a kosher stuffing as well, something I didn’t do last year. Go, chef Jack! I will be chopping the vegetables Thursday morning, no doubt. I strive to be a compliant sous chef. Haha!

Happy Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

