Herbed focaccia french toast with pumpkin pie spice and nutmeg

10 Aug

I know, this sounds like a weird combination. Herbs with spices? But, it works!

I like that Jack is practical. We had some leftover focaccia from La Grande Orange http://www.lagrandeorangegrocery.com/ (last weekend my Mom, brother and aunt came over for chicken cacciatore and I sprang for wonderful bread) and he said it would make great french toast. He is always thinking about food (sound like someone you know?)…last night he asked me if I have ever made french toast with pumpkin pie spice. I had to honestly say no.

But…you should try it. Btw, pumpkin pie spice has allspice, cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg, if you decide to put these spices in separately. He just used 4 slices of focaccia for our french toast, along with two beaten eggs, a dash of salt/pepper and pinches of the pumpkin pie spice and nutmeg.

Alongside, we had Farmer John’s Louisiana smoked sausage. He just sliced this on the bias and fried it like breakfast sausage. I like it very much. It is quite spicy and reminds me a little bit of Spanish chorizo.

Not your typical Wednesday morning (before work!) breakfast. But then again, the kitchen wench does not keep typical company.

🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

