The humble fig

13 Jul

Jack’s neighbor Barbara has a beautiful fruit and veg garden. Go and see it for yourself! It’s on the corner of Polk and Hayden in Scottsdale.

Anyways, she’s now distributing…figs!

 

I didn’t know that I liked figs so much. I discovered it this morning. I brought some over to my Mom last night, she washed one off and sliced it in fours, popped it into her mouth (skin and all) and said, “Gwynne, these are delicious!” I knew I was missing something.

 

So this morning I made french toast (to be consumed directly) and I’m going to put figs on top.  You could do the same.

 

Or, you bake them with maple syrup (mmm) and serve them with ice cream like this creative blogger does. http://www.asliceofcherrypie.com/blog/baked-figs-with-maple-syrup-vanilla-ice-cream-and-toasted-hazelnuts/

Sounds pretty tasty.

Leave a Reply

